SOLIDWORKS, Tech Tips, PDM

Switch Local Settings for Disabling Automatic Login

By Simran Rekhi on May 10, 2017

Are you trying to login as the “admin” or another user but are not getting prompted for the login window? Switching the local settings in the administration tool on the client can help fix this automatic login. Here are the step-by-step instructions on how to switch local settings to disable automatic login.

SOLIDWORKS PDM Local Settings and Content

SOLIDWORKS PDM Client has an administration tool that will help you organize and maintain your vault settings at the local and global level. This tool lets you examine log files, modify vault settings, and adjust local client settings which are specific from client to client.

First, to verify the setting set on the server end please follow the steps listed below:

Step 1: Open the Archive Server Configuration Tool on the Archive Server. 

Switch Local Settings for Disabling Automatic Login 

Step 2: Go to Tools > Default Settings > Windows Login to see if the server default settings are set to use automatic login or not. Depending if the box is checked or not the local settings will be altered accordingly. See below screenshot for instructions on how to check for this setting on the server end.

Switch Local Settings for Disabling Automatic Login

Step 3: The other location you should verify this property for automatic login is in the properties of each vault individually as seen in the screenshot below. This can be accessed by going to Figure 1 and then right clicking on the vault, in this case the “TEST” vault and then clicking on properties.

Switch Local Settings for Disabling Automatic Login

Step 4: Once you have verified in the archive server configuration tool that the setting for automatic login is selected or not and use default login type then you can now proceed to the settings of the individual client machine. To check the local settings on the individual client machine, open the Administration Tool and then go to Local Settings (found on the left side toward the bottom of the window).

Administration Tool > Local Settings > Automatic Login Tab > Select Vault from Dropdown

Switch Local Settings for Disabling Automatic Login

The setting will most likely be a combination of one of the three under the vault name: both will be selected for use server default and use automatic login for this vault, or one of the two settings will be checked or none of them will be checked. If in the archive server configuration tool the setting for server default is checked then the automatic login for this vault may or may not be selected.

The objective here is to make sure that the automatic login for this vault is unchecked so you may have to uncheck the use server default setting first to unhide the use automatic login for this vault.

The beauty of this is that this is on the client end and does not affect the rest of the users.

 For more tips and tricks from our Application Engineers, take a look at other blogs in our Technical Support FAQ Series.